42–59 min.


political drama

About House of Cards

House of Cards is an American political drama web television series created by Beau Willimon. It is an adaptation of the BBC's mini-series of the same name and is based on the novel by Michael Dobbs. The thirteen-episode first season premiered on February 1, 2013, on the streaming service Netflix.

Set in 2010s Washington, D.C., House of Cards is the story of Frank Underwood, a Democrat from South Carolina's 5th congressional district and House Majority Whip. After being passed over for appointment as Secretary of State, he initiates an elaborate plan to get himself into a position of greater power, aided by his wife, Claire Underwood. The series deals primarily with themes of ruthless pragmatism, manipulation, and power.

campaign logo

Anything for America

The 2016 presidential campaign of Frank Underwood, the 46th President of the United States, was announced in September 2015. Underwood served as a US Representative from South Carolina's 5th district, and later became Vice President in 2013 after Jim Matthews resigned. Underwood became President on October 30, 2014, after the resignation of Garrett Walker.

In April 2015, Underwood stated he would not run for re-election in 2016. However, in September 2015, following the congressional defunding of his America Works program, Underwood announced he would run after all. He faced competition from former Solicitor General Heather Dunbar. Dunbar dropped out of the race on May 16, 2016, after it appeared she had connections to Lucas Goodwin, who attempted to assassinate Underwood in March 2016.

Frank Underwood, at the Democratic Convention in Atlanta, did not have a running mate selected, so the Convention voted on the Vice Presidency. Underwood's wife, Claire Underwood, was selected, and the two faced off against Will Conway in the general election.

"If you don't like how the table is set, turn over the table."

House of Cards flag upside down

The Underwood Administration

  • President
  • Frank Underwood
  • Term: 2014-2017
  • November 5, 1959
  • Gaffney, South Carolina
  • Vice President
  • Donald Blythe
  • Term: 2015-2017
  • September 16, 1954
  • Vermont
  • Chief of Staff
  • Doug Stamper
  • Term: 2015-2017
  • May 1, 1964
  • Naperville, Illinois
  • U.N. Ambassador
  • Claire Underwood
  • Term: 2015
  • Unknown date in 1965
  • Dallas, Texas
  • Press Secretary
  • Seth Grayson
  • Term: 2014-2017
  • January 15, 1976
  • n/a